UW-W Women’s Volleyball Heads to Iowa for NCAA Regional

By Angela Kelm
Asst. Athletic Director for Sports Information

The University of Wisconsin-Whitewater women’s volleyball team will head to Mount Vernon, Iowa for NCAA Regional action this week. The eight-team regional hosted by Cornell College will run Thursday through Saturday.  

The Warhawks (26-4) will take on Coe College (21-11) to open their 34th appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The first match of the day Thursday will feature Washington-St. Louis against St. Olaf at 11:30 followed by UWW and Coe at 2 p.m. At 4:30, Northwestern (MN) will face Edgewood with Cornell hosting Millikin in the final match of the evening at 7 p.m. 

Location: Mount Vernon, Iowa
Facility: Small Athletic & Wellness Center

Click here and select UWW Match Notes (PDF) for further details.

More information will be posted on the online preview story as it becomes available

The Warhawks finished as the runner-up in the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference standings but rolled through the league tournament to claim the WIAC’s automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament. UWW swept UW-River Falls in the semifinal, beating the Falcons for the second time in less than a week. In the WIAC Tournament Championship, UW-Whitewater was phenomenal in handing UW-Oshkosh its first loss of 2023 on the Titans’ home court. The Warhawks won in straight sets to take down the No. 2 team in the nation and punch their ticket to regionals. UWW has won 18 WIAC Tournament titles. 

Coe, the number three seed in the American Rivers Conference Tournament, knocked off top-ranked Dubuque 3-1 in the title match to claim the ARC’s automatic bid into the postseason. The win is Coe’s second straight ARC tournament championship. 


The Warhawks swept all major player awards in the WIAC this season. Outside hitter Jenna Weinfurt (Waukesha, Wis./Catholic Memorial) was named the league’s Offensive Player of the Year while libero Morgan Jensen (Sun Prairie, Wis./Sun Prairie) secured Defensive Player of the Years honors for the second time in her career. Setter Aubrie Krzus (Wheaton, Ill./Warrenville South) was named the WIAC Newcomer of the Year. In addition, the nation’s top blocker, Kirsten Anderson (Sun Prairie, Wis./Sun Prairie), garnered First Team All-WIAC recognition. 

The Kohawks were represented by middle hitters Grace Lueken and Gracie Urbatsch, setter Maddy Maahs and pin Madi Parson on the ARC’s All-Conference listing this season. 


The Warhawks lead the all-time series against Coe 9-4 since 2006. UWW has won the last six and eight of the last 10. Five of the last six meetings have resulted in the Warhawk sweep. Coe has won the lone two five-setters since 2006. Thursday’s match will be the second meeting between the two squads this season – UWW won 3-0 on September 9 on the road. 

Share This
Posted in ,