WHS Academic Excellence Scholarship Winners

Whitewater High School is proud to announce that Lydia Wiley Deal and Zachary Gross are the Class of 2018 Wisconsin Academic Excellence Scholarship winners. Lydia and Zachary will each receive $2,250 per year for four years ($9,000 total) while they attend college in Wisconsin. Recipients chosen each year must have the highest cumulative grade point average in their class. If there is a tie for the highest GPA, winners are selected based on the highest number of honor points and ACT / SAT test scores.

Congratulations Lydia and Zachary!


Fort HealthCare is offering scholarships totaling over $25,000 for the 2017-18 academic year to students pursuing careers in healthcare.

Candidates must be residents of Cambridge, Fort Atkinson, Helenville, Jefferson, Johnson Creek, Lake Mills, Palmyra, Sullivan, or Whitewater. Scholarships are being offered by the Fort HealthCare Partners, Fort Memorial Hospital Medical Staff, and Fort Memorial Hospital Foundation.

Students interested in applying can complete an application online at www.FortHealthCare.com/scholarships.  Applicants will be considered for every scholarship for which they are eligible by completing ONE online application.

Applications are due by April 2, 2017.

For more information, 

The Whitewater Unified School District School Board sets limits on open-enrollment applicants for the 2018-19 school year.

There will be no limits on open enrollment for regular students. However, the board did limit the number of open enrollment on “cross-categorical” special education students: early childhood will be limited to seven students; 4K through fifth grade will be limited to 77 students; sixth- through eighth grade will be limited to 64 students, and ninth- through twelfth grade will be limited to 81 students.

Districtwide for open enrollment, speech and language services will be limited to 158; physical therapy will be limited to 18 students; and occupational therapy will be limited to 35 students.

Due to a lack of available staff — the district contracts for these services through CESA 2 — there will be no increase for deaf/hard of hearing or visually-impaired students.

Additionally, the board approved minor edits and changes to its open enrollment-policy document.

For the story on this and the remainder of the School Board meeting by Chris Welch for the dailyunion.com:   

Eight Lincoln 5th Grade Choir students performed in the All-State Children’s Choir on January 6 in Wausau, WI.

(L-R) With Margaret Jenks, guest conductor, are Lincoln participants: Adalyn Frye, Sami Van Daele, Alex Sullivan, Zoe Olson, Carley Boudreau, Dante Baker, Mrs. Hayes, Henry Gehrenbeck and Caleb Clapper.

The 85 students of 5th and 6th grade singers were selected from across the state by the Wisconsin Choral Directors Association and the 8 Lincoln students were honored to be included. Guest conductor was Margaret Jenks, Director of the Madison Children’s Choir. The LINCS students practiced the challenging music with their music teacher Mrs. Christine Hayes. The students loved learning new techniques, being challenged and meeting new friends from across the state who share their love of singing. The Whitewater Music Parents provided scholarships for each student to help with registration fees.

Middle and High School students heard a special presentation on nonviolence in an event celebrating Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.

For the rest of the story from WFAW AM 940 by Gary Douglas . At the end of the interesting story click links to hear short appropriate comments from WHS Principal Mike Lovenberg and Marc Perry on the event.

Marc Perry, director of community programs at Community Action Inc., that offers programs to fight poverty in Rock and Walworth Counties with WMS Principal Dr. Tanya Wojciechowicz.


Marc Perry with Dr. Ozalle Toms, UWW Special Education Associate Professor, event coordinator and one of two trainers (UWW Dr. Lauren Smith not in picture) who trained about 50 adult volunteers who held WHS smaller home room class discussions on Dr. King’s six principles of nonviolence.

The Whitewater High School Robotics Team Ferradermis has just entered their build season for 2018.

The 2017-18 Team

On January 6, the team traveled to Waukesha County Technical College in Pewaukee to participate in the FIRST Robotics Kick-Off Event. At the event, they learned about the game for the 2018 season, and they will have until February 20 to plan, design, build, and test their robot before it has to be sealed for competition.

The game this year is modeled after a 1980’s video game, with the robot needing to pick up and distribute “power cubes” to various places on the field. To view the video presentation of the game, visit .

The plan to design, build, and test their robot is underway!

Team Ferradermis would like to thank their community sponsors including HSI Rentals, Generac, First Citizens State Bank, LS Power, Whitewater Manufacturing, the Salverson Family, Basin Precision Machining, The Knights of Columbus, Hudapack, anonymous community members, Whitewater High School, and the Kiwanis Breakfast Club. Ferradermis has also received generous grants from the Wisconsin Robotics League Participation grant program, the Argosy Family Foundation, and from Pentair this year. With these donations and grants, the team will be able to compete in two regionals this year as well as a pre-regional at Sussex Hamilton High School on February 18. From March 22 – March 24 the team will be in Milwaukee for the Wisconsin Regional, and from April 4 – April 7 the team will be in LaCrosse for the Seven Rivers Regional. The regional events are free and open to the public.

If the team can raise a little more money, their goal is to build two identical robots so that after the first is sealed for competition they can continue testing and debugging the second in preparation for changes to be made once the first robot is unsealed in Milwaukee.

Team Ferradermis would also like to thank the large number of adults who are assisting faculty advisors Ms. Laura Masbruch and Mr. Cody Watson in mentoring the team. Three graduates who founded the team last year are returning to mentor their former classmates; Justin Brantmeier, Roberto Soto, and Jacob Lee are all attending college but giving up their holiday break and driving back on weekends to assist. Also mentoring the team are Rob Prager from US Tanker, Lead Coach Carissa Petzinger from Generac, Dilpreet Randhawa, Allison Conrad, and Caleb Johnson from the UW-Madison Robotics Team, UW-Whitewater student and FIRST alum Sam Smith, and community members Jim McKenzie, Tony Tautges, Steven Sahyun, and Karen Korf. Thank you to the community for your tremendous support!