Women’s Tennis Earns 15th Straight WIAC Championship

By Chris Lindeke, Assistant Athletic Director, Strategic Communications and Branding, UW-Whitewater

Sunday, October 24, 2021

Women’s Tennis Earns 15th Straight WIAC Championship

WIAC Championship Web Page/Results: https://wiacsports.com/sports/2021/9/16/WTEN_0916212159.aspx

The University of Wisconsin-Whitewater women’s tennis team claimed its 15th consecutive conference title Sunday on the second and final day of the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championship (Presented by Culver’s) at Nielsen Tennis Stadium in Madison.

The Warhawks totaled a league-best 55 points at the tournament, which counts for two-thirds of the criteria for the championship. UW-W combined that with its conference-high seven points from the dual meets in the fall to earn the program’s 22nd conference title all time.

UW-Whitewater will now host the four-team WIAC Team Tournament this spring to determine the league’s automatic qualifier for the NCAA Tournament, which begins in May.

Olivia Kraft led the Warhawks with titles at No. 3 singles and No. 1 doubles. She topped UW-Stevens Point and UW-La Crosse in straight sets Sunday on the way to her first career singles title.

Kraft then paired with Autumn Bruno at No. 1 doubles for an 8-6 victory against top-seeded UW-Eau Claire for Kraft’s second career doubles championship.

Bruno and Gianna Nikoleit finished as runners-up at the Nos. 1 and 2 singles positions, respectively. Other second-place finishes included Kellie Ha at No. 4, Courtney Day at No. 5 and Molly Rueth at No. 6. Day took the first set in her final before being edged in a third-set super tiebreaker.

Ha combined with Madalyn Bigelow to place second at No. 3 doubles. Rueth and Day defeated UW-Stevens Point to finish third at No. 2 doubles.

Following play, Ha was selected as the team’s representative on the WIAC All-Sportsmanship Team. Kraft was named WIAC Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete. (A complete announcement will be released soon.)

The Warhawks’ spring season is scheduled to begin March 4 with a dual meet at Division I Northern Illinois.

See below for UW-Whitewater’s individual results from Saturday and Sunday.


Autumn Bruno – No. 1

First Round: d. Kailey Courteau (UW-River Falls) 6-0, 6-0

Semifinal: d. Elaine Franta (UW-Eau Claire) 6-0, 6-0

Final: lost to Kimberly Steinert (UW-La Crosse) 6-3, 6-2

Gianna Nikoleit – No. 2

First Round: Bye

Semifinal: d. Faith Leithold (UW-Stevens Point) 6-3, 6-2

Final: lost to Tasha Bailey (UW-La Crosse) 6-1, 6-2

Olivia Kraft – No. 3

First Round: Bye

Semifinal: d. Jenna Koepp (UW-Stevens Point) 6-3, 6-3

Final: d. Kellie Hierl (UW-La Crosse) 6-3, 6-2

Kellie Ha – No. 4

First Round: d. Hannah Stitt (UW-Oshkosh) 6-0, 6-0

Semifinal: d. Hannah Riegle (UW-La Crosse) 6-1, 6-2

Final: lost to Samantha Fuchs (UW-Eau Claire) 6-1, 6-4

Courtney Day – No. 5

First Round: Bye

Semifinal: d. Chloe Leithold (UW-Stevens Point) 3-6, 6-0, 1-0 (12-10)

Final: lost to Alexa Brooks (UW-Eau Claire) 0-6, 6-2, 1-0 (10-8)

Molly Rueth – No. 6

First Round: Bye

Semifinal: d. Kaylee Woelfel (UW-Stevens Point) 6-1, 6-2

Final: lost to Kaitlyn Kalinka (UW-La Crosse) 6-4, 7-5


Autumn Bruno/Olivia Kraft – No. 1

First Round: d. Michelle Spicer/Jenna Nolde (UW-Oshkosh) 8-1

Semifinal: d. Kimberly Steinert/Kellie Hierl (UW-La Crosse) 8-7 (7)

Final: d. Lindsey Henderson/Elaine Franta (UW-Eau Claire) 8-6

Molly Rueth/Courtney Day – No. 2

First Round: d. Alysa Pattee/Hannah Stitt (UW-Oshkosh) 8-0

Semifinal: lost to Tasha Bailey/Kaitlyn Kalinka (UW-La Crosse) 8-0

Third Place: d. Faith Leithold/Kaitlyn Hess (UW-Stevens Point) 8-4

Madalyn Bigelow/Kellie Ha – No. 3

First Round: Bye

Semifinal: d. Grace Henes/Chloe Leithold (UW-Stevens Point) 8-2

Final: lost to Alexa Brooks/Morgan Nelson (UW-Eau Claire) 8-1

Share This
Posted in ,