Whippets Swim Well at Conference – Houwers Earns Conference Swimmer of the Year

Congrats to Ella Houwers on earning Conference Swimmer of the Year for the Southern Lakes Conference!  Ella earned two first place finishes at the Conference meet in addition to her strong performances in all the events throughout the season!  Ella beat the field by 4.5 seconds in the 200 Individual Medley and won the Breaststroke by 1.5 seconds.  

The Whippets ended their Conference portion of the season with a fourth place finish in this nine team conference with both Division I and II teams.  Our relays stepped up and scored lots of points to help earn our 4th place finish.   The B Medley Relay (Fanshaw, Murphy, Hackney, Treder) rocked it right away moving up four spots from their seed time.  The A Medley Relay (Foucault, Houwers, Zimdars, Krebs) earned medals for their 3rd place finish and dropped another second off their time.  The B 200 Freestyle Relay (Crowley, Fanshaw, Bazeley, N Amos) raced hard and dropped time on their way to scoring points for the team.  The A 200 Freestyle Relay (Houwers, Foucault, Krebs, Zimdars) races their way to 2nd place medals and dropped over a second off their time.  Both 400 Freestyle Relays, (A – Crowley, Treder, Hackney, Bazeley and B – Truesdale, L. Amos, Ortiz, Murphy) dropped time with the A relay finishing in the top 16 and scoring points.

In individual events, the Whippets were able to earn 8 more medals:

Ella Houwers – 1st, 200 IM and 1st, 100 Breaststroke

Brianna Zimdars – 3rd, Butterfly and 2nd, 500 Freestyle

Grace Foucault – 6th, Butterfly and 3rd, Backstroke

Sophia Fanshaw – 5th, Butterfly and 5th, Backstroke

Additional finishes that scored points were:

Ellie Treder – 12th, 200 Freestyle and 13th, 500 Freestyle

Lexi Hackney – 15th, 200 Freestyle

Amber Krebs – 11th, Individual Medley and 9th, 500 Freestyle

Hailey Murphy – 10th, Breaststroke

Swimming best times for the Whippets: Hailey Murphy (2), Ellie Treder (2), Lexi Hackney, Ella Houwers, Amber Krebs, Lucy Amos, Brooke Bazeley (2), Caroline Crowley, Raquel Ortiz, Brianna Zimdars, Sophia Fanshaw (2), Natalie Amos and Mina Truesdale.

Share This
Posted in ,