UW-Whitewater Wrestling Places Second At WIAC Championships

Friday, February 14, 2020

No. 15 UW-Whitewater Posts Four Individual Titles, Places Second at WIAC Meet

LA CROSSE – The No. 15 University of Wisconsin-Whitewater wrestling team posted four individual titles and one runner-up finish Friday to place second at the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championship (Presented by Culver’s) at Mitchell Hall.

The Warhawks compiled 129.5 points for the tournament.

Senior Mike Tortorice was named John Peterson Wrestler of the Meet after claiming his third consecutive conference championship at 125 pounds. The consensus top-three wrestler in the nation posted a 2-0 record, including a pin in the second period in the final against Tristan Jenny of UW-La Crosse.

Senior Hazen Rice also recorded his third straight WIAC title and second at 141 pounds. Ranked No. 2 in the nation by D3wrestle.com and No. 3 by Intermat, Rice posted a 3-0 record, including one technical fall, one pin and a 1-0 decision over Hayden Schlough of UW-La Crosse in the final.

Senior Devin Tortorice finished with a 3-0 record on the way to his first career championship at 149 pounds. He completed the run with a 5-3 decision by sudden victory over UW-Eau Claire’s Jake Drexler in the title bout.

Sophomore Jaritt Shinhoster registered four falls on his way to the championship at 174 pounds. The nation’s consensus No. 2 wrestler pinned No. 7 Evan Lawrence, who is ranked seventh nationally, in the second period of the final.

Sophomore Dylan Uzumecki finished as runner-up at 285 pounds, recording one pin and one decision before being topped in the final by consensus top-five ranked Lucius Rinehart of UW-Platteville.

Senior Ryder Sigler and freshman Jake Burford placed third at 165 and 157 pounds, respectively. Senior John Broughton finished fifth at 157, and senior Nick Sundberg and freshman Cole Walkington placed sixth at 197 and 141 pounds, respectively.

The NCAA Upper Midwest Regional Championships are set for Feb. 28-29 at Augsburg University in Minneapolis, Minn.

See below for complete UW-Whitewater results from the WIAC Championships.

Mike Tortorice
First Round: Bye
Quarterfinal: Bye
Semifinal: d. Denis Murphy (UW-Oshkosh) by major decision, 8-0
Final: d. Tristan Jenny (UW-La Crosse) by fall, 4:49

Josiah Lynden
First Round: lost to Luke Pradel (UW-Platteville) by decision, 7-2
Consolation: d. Matthew Joyce (UW-Oshkosh) by decision, 11-5
Consolation: lost to Caleb Radtke (UW-Platteville) by decision, 11-6

Hazen Rice
First Round: Bye
Quarterfinal: d. Anthony Kanable (UW-Stevens Point) by technical fall, 19-1 (3:00)
Semifinal: d. Zachary Weiler (UW-La Crosse) by fall, 1:15
Final: d. Hayden Schlough (UW-La Crosse) by decision, 1-0

Cole Walkington
First Round: Bye
Quarterfinal: lost to Hayden Schlough (UW-La Crosse) by decision, 10-4
Consolation: d. Elias Audley (UW-Eau Claire) by decision, 6-3
Consolation: d. Elijah Sanchez (UW-Oshkosh) by decision, 6-0
Consolation: lost to Zachary Weiler (UW-La Crosse) by fall, 0:22
Fifth Place: lost to Eli Mondrella (UW-Oshkosh) by medical forfeit

Dakarai Clay
First Round: Bye
Quarterfinal: lost to Tyler Shackle (UW-La Crosse) by disqualification
Consolation: d. Mason Wheeler (UW-Stevens Point) by fall, 6:13
Consolation: lost to Brandon Lenczer (UW-Oshkosh) by decision, 3-2

Devin Tortorice
First Round: Bye
Quarterfinal: d. Sam Wenzel (UW-La Crosse) by decision, 4-1
Semifinal: d. Tyler Vanderlois (UW-Eau Claire) by technical fall, 18-2 (5:27)
Final: d. Jake Drexler (UW-Eau Claire) by decision, 5-3 (SV-1)

John Broughton
First Round: Bye
Quarterfinal: lost to Nolan Hertel (UW-La Crosse) by decision, 5-1
Consolation: d. Alfred Daniel (UW-La Crosse) by forfeit
Consolation: d. Tristan Massie (UW-La Crosse) by fall, 0:58
Consolation: lost to Jake Burford by decision, 7-5
Fifth Place: d. Muzi Siseltha (UW-Oshkosh) by decision, 7-2

Jake Burford
First Round: Bye
Quarterfinal: d. Coy Ruess (UW-Platteville) by decision, 7-4
Semifinal: lost to Grant Zamin (UW-La Crosse) by technical fall, 21-6 (5:53)
Consolation: d. John Broughton by decision, 7-5
Third Place: d. Alexander Strueder (UW-Platteville) by decision, 5-2

Ryder Sigler
First Round: d. Will Dixon (UW-Oshkosh) by major decision, 15-3
Quarterfinal: lost to Nathan Wynsma (UW-Platteville) by fall, 2:37
Consolation: d. Travis White (UW-Eau Claire) by fall, 6:40
Consolation: d. Ben Kasten (UW-Stevens Point) by decision, 4-2
Consolation: d. Jordan Weinzetl (UW-Stevens Point) by decision, 5-3
Third Place: d. Nick Fetzner (UW-La Crosse) by decision, 11-4

Ryan Vedner
First Round: Bye
Quarterfinal: lost to Jordan Weinzetl (UW-Stevens Point) by technical fall, 16-0 (6:29)
Consolation: d. Will Dixon (UW-Oshkosh) by major decision, 13-5
Consolation: lost to Chase Schmidt (UW-Eau Claire) by decision, 9-4

Jaritt Shinhoster
First Round: d. Peter Driscoll (UW-Platteville) by fall, 2:08
Quarterfinal: d. Connor Williams (UW-La Crosse) by fall, 5:59
Semifinal: d. Taran Holland (UW-Stevens Point) by fall, 3:53
Final: d. Evan Lawrence (UW-Eau Claire) by fall, 3:52

Killian Jauch
First Round: lost to Reed Williams (UW-La Crosse) by technical fall, 15-0 (3:17)
Consolation: d. Kevin Jankowski (UW-Stevens Point) by decision, 3-2
Consolation: lost to John DePersia (UW-Oshkosh) by fall, 4:00

Alex Oruna
First Round: lost to John DePersia (UW-Oshkosh) by major decision, 14-5
Consolation: lost to Grant Balconi (UW-Eau Claire) by fall, 1:04

Nick Sundberg
First Round: Bye
Quarterfinal: d. Patrick Reilly (UW-Oshkosh) by major decision, 13-0
Semifinal: lost to James Huntley (UW-Eau Claire) by decision, 2-1
Consolation: lost to Jerry Lipke (UW-Stevens Point) by decision, 3-2 (TB-1)
Fifth Place: lost to Colten Cashmore (UW-Oshkosh) by decision, 5-3

Cadin Koeppel
First Round: d. Adam Gusky (UW-La Crosse) by decision, 1-0
Quarterfinal: lost to Noah Carter (UW-Eau Claire) by decision, 4-1
Consolation: lost to Isaac Gust (UW-La Crosse) by decision, 9-7

Dylan Uzumecki
First Round: Bye
Quarterfinal: d. Noah Wieczorek (UW-Stevens Point) by fall, 1:41
Semifinal: d. Jordan Lemcke (UW-Oshkosh) by decision, 8-3
Final: lost to Lucius Rinehart (UW-Platteville) by fall, 5:18

Share This
Posted in