UW-W Women’s Tennis to Host NCAA Regional Thursday-Saturday

By Chris Lindeke, Assistant Athletic Director, Strategic Communications and Branding, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

NCAA Announcement

UW-Whitewater Regional Web Page

The University of Wisconsin-Whitewater women’s tennis team will host seven teams for the first three rounds of the NCAA Division III Championship this Thursday-Saturday at the Warhawk Outdoor Tennis Complex in Whitewater.

The Warhawks (19-4 overall) will face Illinois Tech, the Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference champion, on Thursday at 9 a.m. The winner will face the winner of the Grinnell/Northwestern (Minn.) match, which takes place Thursday at 12 p.m., in the second round on Friday at 10 a.m.

Thursday’s other first-round match-up includes Carleton (Minn.) and Luther (Iowa) at 3 p.m.. The winner will take on Chicago in Friday’s second round at 1 p.m.

The two remaining teams will compete for the regional title Saturday at 11 a.m.

UW-Whitewater claimed its 15th straight Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference championship and won the WIAC Team Tournament on April 30 to punch its ticket to the NCAA Tournament for the 14th consecutive season.

The winner of this weekend’s regional advances to the NCAA Championship, which is set for May 23-25 in Orlando, Fla.

See below for the schedule of this week’s matches.

Thursday, May 12 – First Round

Match 1 – UW-Whitewater vs. Illinois Tech, 9 a.m.

Match 2 – Grinnell vs. Northwestern (Minn.), 12 p.m.

Match 3 – Carleton vs. Luther, 3 p.m.

Friday, May 13 – Second Round

Match 4 – Winner of Match 1 vs. Winner of Match 2, 10 a.m.

Match 5 – Winner of Match 3 vs. Chicago, 1 p.m.

Saturday, May 14 – Third Round

Match 6 – Winner of Match 4 vs. Winner of Match 5, 11 a.m.

Share This
Posted in