UW-W Wins NCAA Men’s Cross Country North Regional; Patzka Claims Individual Title

Editor’s note: The following announcement was posted to the WIAC website.

NORTHFIELD, Minn.–University of Wisconsin-Whitewater won the NCAA Division III Men’s Cross Country North Regional at the St. Olaf College (Minn.) Cross Country Course on Nov. 12.
The regional title is the second straight for UW-Whitewater. The Warhawks posted 74 points to slip past the second-place total of 82 points by UW-La Crosse. UW-Whitewater earned an automatic bid into the NCAA Division III Championship that will be conducted Nov. 19, in Lansing, Mich.
St. Olaf finished third with 108 points, while UW-Stout was fourth with 117 and UW-Eau Claire fifth with 133.
Additional Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) team finishes included: UW-Oshkosh sixth with 176 points; UW-Stevens Point 10th with 267; and UW-Platteville 12th with 363. A total of 29 teams competed in the race.
UW-Whitewater’s Christian Patzka claimed the individual title after completing the 8,000-meter course in 224:09.15. A total of 120 runners completed the race. UW-La Crosse’s Ethan Gregg was second in 24:18.59, UW-Whitewater’s Gunner Schlender third in 24:22.69 and UW-La Crosse’s Isaac Wegner fourth in 24:29.65.
Additional WIAC runners securing All-North Region recognition for placing in the top 35 included: UW-Stout’s Spencer Schultz (eighth in 24:48.69); UW-Stout’s Matthew Ryan (ninth in 24:51.33); UW-Oshkosh’s Steven Potter (12th in 24:55.88); UW-Whitewater’s Justin Krause (13th in 24:57.73); UW-La Crosse’s Corey Fairchild (14th in 24:59.01); UW-Stout’s Ian Williams (17th in 25:03.56); UW-Eau Claire’s Mason Shea (18th in 25:07.05); UW-Oshkosh’s Joseph Kehoe (21th in 25:21.00); UW-Oshkosh’s Jake Krause (23rd in 25:22.60); UW-Platteville’s Logan Bell (24th in 25:22.72); UW-Eau Claire’s Zach Yengo (25th in 25:23.13); UW-La Crosse’s Parker Huhn (26th in 25:24.38); UW-Whitewater’s Dan Anderson (27th in 25:26.09); UW-Eau Claire’s Sam Verkerke (28th in 25:26.20); UW-Eau Claire’s Tyler Osen (29th in 25:26.30); UW-Whitewater’s Chris Allen (30th in 25:26.50); and UW-Eau Claire’s Jake Hesse-Withbroe (33rd in 25:30.63).

Share This
Posted in