Friday is Last Day for In-Person Absentee Voting; What’s on the Ballot?

By Lynn Binnie
Whitewater Banner volunteer staff

The partisan primary election will be held next Tuesday, August 9. In-person absentee voting is available at the City Clerk’s office, second floor of the municipal building at 312 W. Whitewater Street, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. through this Friday. City Clerk Michele Smith indicates that if someone needs to set up a special appointment with her, they may reach her at 262 473-0102.

Voter registration is also available at the above hours, though same-day registration is also available at the polls, which will be open on Tuesday from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Downtown Armory, 146 W. North Street.

What’s on the ballot? This is a partisan primary, which means you may help to nominate the candidates for one party. Wisconsin does not have party registration, so you may cast a ballot for the candidates for either the Republican or Democratic party.

To find the candidates who will be on your ballot, you may go to Enter your address, choose “view my races,” and use the arrows to move from one race to the next. Candidates have been offered the opportunity to provide background information and to answer some questions. (Unfortunately the race for Walworth County Sheriff is not included.)

Here’s an overview of the races that will be on your ballot:

U.S. Senate
Note: Those who are voting Democratic may wish to be aware that the following candidates who will be on the ballot have
withdrawn from the race: Sarah Godlewski, Alex Lasry, and Tom Nelson.

U.S. House of Representatives
Note: Due to redistricting, Walworth County residents will now be in District 1. Candidates: Ann Roe (D) & Bryan Steil (R)
Those in Jefferson County will still be in District 5. Candidates are Scott Fitzgerald (R) and Mike Van Someren (D).

Lt. Governor
Attorney General
Secretary of State

WI Senate, District 11. Candidates: Steve Nass (R) and Steven J. Doedler (D)

WI Assembly: Jefferson County residents are now in District 33. Candidates: Don Vruwink (D), Scott Johnson (R) and Dale W. Opperman (R).

WI Assembly: Walworth County residents are now in District 31. Candidates: Jason Dean (R), Ellen Schutt (R), Maryann Zimmerman (R), and Brienne Brown (D).

Walworth County residents will also find County Sheriff on the ballot. Republican candidates are David Gerber and Craig Konopski. There are no Democrats in this race.

The Banner has offered the candidates for WI Assembly and Walworth County Sheriff the opportunity to provide another article for our publication. Responses will be posted on Friday.

Voter registr

Share This
Posted in