Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links

Sponsored Links
Lil' Debbie's Coyote Grill

WHS Soccer splits two games last week

September 18, 2018

From Coach Chenoweth:

The Whitewater Boys Soccer team had a busy week participating in 5 games over 6 days. First up for the Whippets was an away game at Division 1 Janesville Parker. The Whippets scored five goals in the first half and added one more in the second. Shawn Chan finished with 3 goals with Cody Rupke, Christian Reyes, and Juan Cuellar each picking up one of their own. Our defensive back line and mid-field did well controlling the game and keeper Slate Spear denied all shots for the shutout.

On Thursday, the Whippets hosted conference opponent East Troy-Palmyra. For the past two years, the Trojans have not had many players, but have still managed to put together quality games and finish strong in the conference. The Whippets started the game with some fairly sloppy play and mistakes all across the pitch. Those mistakes found us down 1-0 at the half. We saw some slight improvement in the second half, but still not enough energy to compete as we need to against conference teams. East Troy managed another goal in the second half. In the past 20 minutes or so, the Whippets stepped it up and put in the type of performance and focus that we are going to need the rest of the season, but it was too late for the game and did not manage to get us a goal.

This weekend the Whippets played in a tournament in Milton. The Whippets faced Middleton Reserves, Milwaukee Lutheran, and Kaneland, IL. The Whippets picked up a tie, a win and a loss. We saw some good play across all three games and worked on a new formation that we hope will suit us well the rest of the season.

This week we face Evansville at home on Monday and then Edgerton away on Thursday.

Janesville Parker 0     Whitewater 6

Janesville Parker 0 0
Whitewater 5 1

Whitewater 0      East Troy-Palmyra 2

Whitewater 0 0
East Troy-Palmyra 1 1

WHS Cross Country has strong showing at Angel Invitational

September 16, 2018
Nicole Tomomitsu, with her medal.

From Coach Carstens:

Trenten Zahn continued to show steady improvement as the team encountered its second race within the same week this time at the Angel Invitational at UW-Parkside. Zahn showed poise in the field of 231 finishers with 39 teams made up of all divisions. He was around 29th place at the midway point of the 5K race and made his way up to 16th place overall, one short of a medal in this tough field in a time of 17:05. Trenten was the 2nd fastest D2 runner in the meet. The remaining varsity runners showed great improvement as they harnessed the strength in running as a pack with perhaps Manny Rodriguez benefiting the most from it as he has vaulted himself to the team’s fourth best runner in his first season in a Whippet CC uniform. The team placed 22nd overall.

The JV field was led by junior Jack Mayer who has been quite gutsy in his racing despite his stomach not agreeing with him. Perhaps more impressive has been Justin Mitchell who had a few setbacks this season but has shown some true grit and laced up his spikes to race today. The JV squad finished in 23rd.

Nicole Tomomitsu has strung together impressive back-to-back meet performances this week with a 15th place overall finish at the Angel Invite and earned the final medal. Her ability to “just run” is paying huge dividends and putting others on notice. Nicole was also the 2nd best D2 runner in the field of 194 finishers with a time of 20:57. Crystal Chan and Hailey Prager are feeding off each other and have enjoyed the benefits that come with being in contact with each other as the race unfolds. They finished 49th and 59th overall. The Varsity girls finished in 18th place.

The JV field was led by Jenny Villarreal who continues to drop time knocking on her first sub 30:00 effort soon. Overall, the freshmen and other new faces on the team are showing more confidence and proving to themselves they belong in the sport and can compete in the meets on the team’s schedule.

Full results can be found here: http://wisconsinrunner.com/results/2018angel.php

Up next is the 81st Annual Janesville Midwest Invitational hosted by Janesville Craig at Blackhawk Golf Course on Saturday, September 22nd. The first race is slated to begin at 9:05 AM.

UWW Football: No. 10 Wisconsin-Whitewater 73, Middle Georgia State 0

September 16, 2018

Photos by Peter Mischka, Courtesy of Bob Mischka

From UWWSports.com:

No. 10 Football Closes Non-Conference Slate With Win

The No. 10 ranked University of Wisconsin-Whitewater football team rolled up 554 yards of total offense and pitched a shutout defensively Saturday in a 73-0 victory over Middle Georgia State in front of 5,242 fans in a non-conference contest at Perkins Stadium.

The Warhawks (3-0 overall) totaled nearly 500 yards more than the Knights, holding Middle Georgia State (0-1) to 55 yards and posting 56 first-half points. The team’s scoring output was its largest since 2006 when it scored 75 against Lakeland and the largest margin of victory since 1900.

Senior quarterback Cole Wilber registered 167 yards passing with two touchdowns, and sophomore running back Alex Peete finished with 12 carries for 93 yards and two touchdowns to lead the offense. Ten different receivers caught passes in the affair.

After a bye week, UW-Whitewater visits No. 23 UW-La Crosse to open Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference play. Kickoff on Saturday, Sept. 29, is set for 4 p.m. in La Crosse.


WHS Football: McFarland 45 WHS 6

September 16, 2018

McFarland was fully in charge on Friday, taking down Whitewater 45 – 6. Whitewater fell to 0-5 on the season.

Next week, Whitewater will face off against Evansville/Albany.

Upcoming Events

Sponsored Links
Lil' Debbie's Coyote Grill